How-to

How to Turn Off SafeSearch on Google Search


Google "G" Logo on a gradient background

Google Search’s SafeSearch ensures you do not see explicit content in your search results. If you’d like to include that content, you’ll have to turn off SafeSearch first. We’ll show you how to do that on desktop and mobile.

You only have to disable SafeSearch on one of your signed-in devices. That setting syncs across all your Google devices.

Note: If your Google account is managed by your parent or guardian, they will have to disable SafeSearch. You can’t do that by yourself.

RELATED: Why Parents Should Be Using Google Family Link

Turn Off SafeSearch on Google Search on Desktop

To disable Google Search’s SafeSearch filter on your Windows, Mac, Linux, or Chromebook computer, first, open a web browser on your computer and visit Google Search.

At the bottom-right corner of the Google site, click “Settings.”

Click "Settings" on Google.

From the “Settings” menu, choose “Search Settings.”

Select "Search Settings" from "Settings."

You will arrive on a “Search Settings” page. Here, in the “SafeSearch Filters” section, toggle off the “Turn On SafeSearch” option.

Deactivate the "Turn On SafeSearch" option on the "Search Settings" page.

Save your changes by scrolling down the page and clicking “Save” at the bottom.

Click "Save" on the "Search Settings" page.

A “Your Preferences Have Been Saved” prompt will appear. Click “OK.”

Click "OK" in the Your Preferences Have Been Saved" prompt.

And that’s it. Going forward, Google will include all kinds of results in your searches, including the ones containing explicit content.

RELATED: How to Unblock “Potentially Sensitive Content” on Twitter

Turn Off SafeSearch on Google Search on Mobile

To toggle off SafeSearch on your iPhone, iPad, or Android phone, open a web browser on your phone and launch the Google site.

At the bottom of the Google site, tap “Settings.”

Tap "Settings" on Google.

In the menu that opens, tap “Search Settings.”

Choose "Search Settings" from the "Settings" menu.

On the “Search Settings” page, in the “SafeSearch Filters” section, enable the “Show Explicit Results” option.

Enable "Show Explicit Results" on the "Search Settings" page.

Scroll down the page, and at the bottom, tap “Save.”

Tap "Save" on the "Search Settings" page.

You will see a “Your Preferences Have Been Saved” prompt. Tap “OK” in this prompt.

Select "OK" in the "Your Preferences Have Been Saved" prompt.

Google’s SafeSearch is now disabled.


Worried about someone finding out your browsing history? Google makes it easy to quickly clear the last 15 minutes of your search history.

RELATED: How to Delete the Last 15 Minutes of Google Search History





READ SOURCE

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.