Google

Earlier this week, the CEO of Google, Sundar Pichai, announced changes being made to the way Google handles your privacy—mainly, how long they will keep your information, and what you can do about it. Pichai says, “…we focus on three important principles: keeping your information safe, treating it responsibly, and putting you in control.”

The changes Google is making will do exactly that, and today, we’ll explain the details and show you how to review your account settings.

Google Privacy Improvements

Essentially, Google has made it easier for location history, voice history, and web activity to be deleted. It used to be that as a Google user, you would need to go into your account and delete any history manually to keep them from storing your data. Google has now set the default for new accounts (as well as those who enable Location History and Web Activity for the first time) to auto-delete your information after 18 months. 

Pichai informed users that if they already had Location History and Web & App Activity turned on, Google wouldn’t be changing those in your account. Instead, they will take extra measures with emails and reminder notifications to keep you informed on your new options.

privacy

While the new default will be 18 months, it doesn’t have to stay that way. If you’d like to continue receiving really relevant ads and suggestions based on your web or location activity, you can actually turn this off entirely. Or, if you want Google to store your data for even less time, you can set your data to auto-delete at 3 months. 

READ  Latest Red Magic 5G update brings face unlock and support for third-party launchers, finally!

How to Configure These Settings

To review your activity settings and make any of these changes, you’ll need to access your Google settings in whatever device you’re on. Pichai shared that soon enough, you’ll actually be able to use the Google search engine to access your settings, but for now, you will need to navigate to your Google account settings as you always have. Once you’re there, find “Activity Controls.” At Activity Controls, you will see options for Web & App Activity, Location History, and even YouTube History. Keep in mind that none of these options will delete your personal records, such as emails and photos. 

Google is continually looking for ways to ensure your privacy as you utilize their apps. They’ve made great strides over the past few years, so we look forward to seeing even more from them in the future.

If you use Google apps frequently, which is your favorite, and how could it be improved? Let us know in the comments section!

Source: The Keyword | Google



READ SOURCE

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here