Jerry Adams of Elizabethtown won his first Brownstown Speedway feature in several years by taking the pure stock win last weekend

Andrew Jones finished second to Adams, followed by Dalton Roark, Glynn Neal and Trevor Cranmer.

Adams’ sponsors are Jason Ayers Trucking, Paul’s Columbus Auto Salvage, Upper Cut Salon, Blackwood Lawn and Landscaping, M.B.R. and CY Chassis.

Brownstown Speedway wrapped up its 2020 racing season over three days of racing with the annual Funfest, which features several divisions of competition.

Story continues below gallery

Brandon Mattox of Center Point kicked off the weekend by winning the 410 non-wing sprint car feature. A.J. Hopkins finished second, followed by Mario Clouser, Brady Short and Andy Bradley.

Devin Gilpin of Columbus won the $3,500-to-win super late model feature race over Dustin Linville, Joe Godsey, Shelby Miles and Chad Stapleton.

Josh Boller of Bainbridge won his first career Brownstown feature by winning the crate late model feature event over Shelby Miles, Tyler Neal, Jim Couch and Keaton Streeval.

Jordan Wever of Bloomington took the open wheel modified feature, winning over Cole Falloway, John Clippinger, Bryson Clark and James Walters.

Dalton Fleenor of Salem was victorious in the bomber feature over Josh Hayes, Justin Litton, Cody Wright and Tom Cox.

Shawn Durbin of Salem won the hornet division feature over Jacob Owens, Hunter Perry, Kaleb Caudill and Tony Napier.

Austin Perry of Columbus won the super stock feature.

Michael Cranmer of Jeffersonville won the Ford Crown Vic feature race over Eric Lewis, Jeff Cranmer, Derek Smith and Brandon Cranmer.

READ  Impact Of Covid-19: Head-Up Display (HUD) in Transportation Market COVID-19 Impacts to 2020-2027 | Continental, Delphi Automotive, DENSO, Nippon Seiki - Chelanpress

J.T. Huffman of Salem won the pure stock enduro over Gary Hayden, Mike Bailey, Conner Mertens and Donnie Wilson.

And to close the weekend, Tommy Fleenor of Salem won the hornet enduro race over Michael Brewer, Davey Waggoner, Dalton Fleenor and Michael Paxson.

Brownstown Speedway and the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series have announced three major events for the 2021 racing season. March 20 will be the Indiana Icebreaker paying $15,000 to win. The 2021 Jackson 100 weekend will start Sept. 24 with a $10,000-to-win event. On Sept. 25, the 42nd annual Jackson 100 will pay $20,000 to win.

Columbus Speedway go-kart results

Columbus Speedway Go-Kart Racing held its final racing event of 2020 on Oct. 10.

The division winners were Conner Smith (rookie), Cash Johnson (junior 2), Jentry Cash (junior 1), Ray Aulick (rwyb), Billy Dalton (boxstock), Brayden Taylor (clone 380), Evan Shatto (junior 3), Scott Roccia (flathead 365), R.T. Lowe (clone 400) and Sayer Gray (clone 340).

Salem finale Sunday

Salem Speedway will hold its world famous Halloween 200 this Sunday afternoon for stock cars.

Also competing on the quarter-mile track will be the Ford Crown Vic Figure-8 cars. For information, visit

Florence finale Oct. 24

Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky, will have its season finale Oct. 24 with the Fall 50 paying $5,000 to win for late models. For information, visit

Trevor Landrum won the late model feature Oct. 3 at Florence. Justin Rattliff finished second, followed by Bill Sheets, Austyn Mills and Dustin Nobbe. Josh Dietz won the make-up crate late model feature over Keegan Cox, Billy Green, Gary Rahe Jr. and Jeremy Creech.

READ  Boohoo must publish its independent review in full

Former Brownstown racers die

Ron Wright of Battle Ground died Sept. 8. He was 83. The Vallonia native raced in the late model division at Brownstown in the early 1970s. He was a U.S. Air Force veteran and a graduate of Purdue University.

Tony Moore of Brownstown died Oct. 7. He was 68. A veteran competitor in area demolition derbies, the Scottsburg native started his oval track career at Brownstown in 1976 in the hobby stock division. He was the 1980 Brownstown track champion in the hobby stock class. He later moved into the late model division. Moore drove for the Hurst Brothers from Salem and his brother-in-law, Kelly Eisele of Brownstown.

Moore became the tech director at Brownstown in 1995 before becoming a tech inspection official for UMP, traveling the country for several years.

This week in racing history

From 1960, Stan Bowman was named the track champion at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

From 1970, Jim Curry was named the track champion at both Brownstown Speedway and Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt. Larry Miller was awarded the sprint car title at Haubstadt.

From 1980 at Charlestown Motor Speedway, Pete Willoughby won the season-ending late model feature over Jack Boggs, Ronnie Johnson, Billy Teegarden and Carl Collins. Danny Blackwell won the street stock feature over Larry Plessinger, Tony Darnell, Larry Holbert and Ron Hibbs.

Also from 1980, at Whitewater Valley Speedway in Liberty, Russ Petro won the late model feature over Larry Owens, John Lawhorn, Bill James and Dennis Moore.

From 1980, the track champions at Brownstown Speedway were Paul Crockett (late models) and Tony Moore (hobby stocks).

READ  Ontario used auto dealers expect tough year ahead, prices already down - Toronto Star

Also from 1980, the track champions at Twin Cities were Russ Petro (late models) and Bill Franks (street stocks).

From 1980, Kerry Norris was named the sprint car track champion at Lawrenceburg.

From 1990, Chuck Amati won the sprint car track championship at Paragon Speedway.

Also from 1990, at Bloomington Speedway, Gary Trammell won the sprint car title.

From 2000, Jason Setser was crowned the sprint car track champion at Lawrenceburg.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here