Former Roanoke City Council member Court Rosen has resigned from the Commonwealth Transportation Board after being charged with drunken driving, his attorney said Wednesday.

Rosen plans “a time for reflection and to address some of his personal issues” raised by his encounter with Salem police Sunday night, Tony Anderson said.

Rosen submitted his resignation from the board to Secretary of the Commonwealth Kelly Thomasson early Monday morning, ending four years of service on the panel that funds and regulates transportation, his attorney said.

Salem police were responding to a 911 report about a reckless driver downtown at 7:02 p.m. Sunday when they stopped Rosen’s vehicle four minutes later at College Avenue near Calhoun Street, according to court records and a statement by Salem spokesman Mike Stevens. Rosen, driving a 2013 Volvo, was charged and released on a summons.

No other vehicles or individuals were involved, Stevens said.

Rosen, 39, of Roanoke, was ordered to appear in Salem General District Court on Aug. 14 for arraignment.

State transportation officials confirmed Rosen’s resignation late Wednesday. Rosen joined the Commonwealth Transportation Board in 2014 as an appointee of Gov. Terry McAuliffe. It wasn’t clear Wednesday what will become of his board seat, which is reserved for a representative of the Roanoke and New River valleys.

This is not Rosen’s first run-in with police.

In 2015, while serving on the transportation board and the city council, Rosen was spotted by Roanoke police smoking marijuana in a shopping center parking lot on Franklin Road. He pleaded guilty in January 2016 to a misdemeanor marijuana possession charge and was sentenced to a year of probation and 16 hours of community service. The court said at the time that it would dismiss the charge if Rosen complied with conditions of probation. The charge is now marked dismissed, according to online court information.

Rosen, who has a background in development, served on the city council through the end of his term on June 30, 2016, and did not seek a third term.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here