Despite the privacy scandals, the investigations, the reports that engagement on its main platform is in decline, Facebook has defined the odds and posted an increase in users and another steady rise in revenue. However, growing awareness about online privacy and the annoyance about incessant status updates are just two reasons for deleting your Facebook account. Fortunately Facebook has made it easier than you might expect to delete your social media account – here is how.

What is the difference between deleting and deactivating a Facebook account?

There are two methods for taking your Facebook account offline.

Basically, deactivating is a way to cool-off from Facebook for a while, while deleting is a permanent solution.

The first is deactivating, which you can reactivate your account whenever you want.

Deactivating will also make your Facebook Timeline invisible, nor can people search for you.

However, some information may remain visible, such as sent messages.

And deactivating Facebook saves your account info, in case you later decide to reactivate your account.

But deleting your account is a much more serious matter.

Facebook delays deletion for a few days after the request is made.

So if you log in during this grace period, the deletion is cancelled.

You cannot regain access to your Facebook account once it is deleted.

It can take up to three months for the data that is stored in Facebook’s backup servers to be deleted, however your information is not accessible on Facebook.

How to deactivate your Facebook account:

Begin by clicking the account menu down arrow at the top right of any Facebook page in your browser.

Next select Settings and choose General in the left column.

The click Manage your account and select Deactivate your account and follow the steps to confirm your decision.

To reactivate your account after deactivating it, simply log into Facebook using your e-mail and password.

Your profile will be entirely reinstated.

How to delete your Facebook account:

Deleting your Facebook account is a serious decision, so make sure it’s something you really want to do.

Remember there are also ways to secure your Facebook privacy settings, if that is your specific concern.

And despite its occasional annoyances, Facebook is also useful for staying in touch with friends and family and organising events.

But those determined on getting rid of Facebook for good, click the Delete my Facebook page and follow the on-screen instructions.

Is your history always available on Facebook?

Facebook has once again delayed the rollout of its Clear History tool, which will theory allow users to delete the data Facebook stores on their users’ usage habits.

The spring 2019 launch window, which had already been pushed back once from late 2018, will come and go without the launch of the tool, Facebook has confirmed.

Facebook will instead delay the roll-out until this autumn, meaning those keen to purge their personal data from the company’s grasp will have to wait several more months.

Facebook’s VP of Integrity Guy Rosen said: We’re working to reengineer our systems, and how we process that data so that we can do it right.

That is why it is taking more time than anticipated.”



LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here